Forensics in general

It wasn’t until years after I competed in high school that I fully appreciated what four years of CX had done for me – it put me in charge of my own education. That has served me well over the years, in several stints in college and through several occupations. The following link is for a recent NPR story on a student who took charge of his education. It mentions a TED Talk that influenced him; that’s the second link.

To Learn More, This High-Schooler Left The Classroom

Sugata Mitra – Kids can teach themselves

As a former librarian whose room hosted parent-teacher conferences, I’ve heard teachers talk about helicopter parents. Forensics students tend to be pretty independent people, so it’s not something coaches have to worry about very much. Still, the following story (from NPR’s Here & Now show) was worth listening to:

Author: Helicopter Parenting Damages Kids – And Society

Leave a Reply

